DIY Personalized “Be My Bridesmaid” Wine Labels

I have officially completed my first wedding-related project and I’ve been waiting to blog this for over a month! While I was still working on the Central Coast and basically living out of a suitcase, I was very lonely and bored. Unfortunately, all my crafting supplies were sitting in storage 7 hours away. Bad idea! I obviously had a mental breakdown and being the great fiancé he is, Casey told me to go buy new craft supplies and do my thing. As if I needed another reason to marry him.

Armed with my new crafting tools, I knew exactly what I wanted to create. I was originally going to buy these on Etsy, but I really thought I could do them myself. Plus when you buy, you’re limited to certain styles and colors but with DIY you can literally pick anything. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy these were!

Directions
  • Buy wine bottles: this can be done based on the type of wine, price, or color of the top label
IMG_0643
I used Beringer “Pink Moscato” mainly for the pink top label

  • Remove wine labels: soak bottles in warm water and Oxy Clean (approximately 1 scoop) for 2 hours and the labels will rub right off
IMG_0648
As for the temperature, I used pretty warm water but not so hot that it may alter the quality of the wine
IMG_0650
The bottles are extremely slippery so be extra careful and be sure to rinse the bottles off before going on to the next steps
IMG_0652
Squeaky clean bottles!

  • Create new labels: using whatever font you like, create a label (I used Microsoft Word, font was “Jenna Sue”) and print on adhesive paper*, you should be able to fit at least 2 labels on each sheet
IMG_0654
*I had to go to Staples to print my labels because apparently if you don’t use your printer for over a year your ink cartridge dries out. This just goes to show you how much printing I’ve done since graduating college.
IMG_0655
  • Cut the personalized label down to size and adhere to cardstock/scrapbook paper cut down to preferred size.
IMG_0661
 IMG_0659
 Here are all the labels, waiting to be adhered to the bottles! I made one extra as a keepsake for us (far right)
IMG_0663
I used double-sided tape on the back of the cardstock to adhere the label to the bottle. As it turns out, double-sided tape is extremely hard to photograph…
IMG_0662
Just to be safe, I used 2 rubber bands to hold the labels in place until the tape was really stuck to the bottle.
IMG_0665
I left the rubber bands on for a few days.
IMG_0673
The finished product!
IMG_0677
Megan, Adrianna, Leah, Hilary, Shelby, Courtney, and Lesley: Casey & I love you all and we are so excited to have you celebrate our special day with us!
Leave a Reply

