Balsamic Steak & Veggie Rolls

IMG_0087

For the past few weeks, I have been spending basically every waking moment with my friends before we all go our separate ways after they graduate. We usually have potlucks every month or so, but with a month left to spare, it seems we have been filling our time with as much food, fun, and alcohol as our bodies will allow. The only silver lining is the detox that will occur when this whole college journey comes to an end.

This week’s potluck theme was “Just Appetizers” because if we are being honest, that’s everyone’s favorite part of a meal. I decided to try out a new recipe I hadn’t done before: Balsamic-Glazed Steak Rolls. The recipe was really straightforward and the ingredients weren’t too complex so I gave it a shot.

Ingredients

1.5 lb Flank Steak

Salt & Pepper

3 tbsp Worcestershire Sauce

Steak Seasoning (I used Montreal Steak)

1 tbsp Olive Oil

1 Carrot

1 Bell pepper

1 Zucchini

1 Bunch Green Onion

2 Cloves of Garlic, smashed

1 tsp Italian Herb Seasoning

2 tbsp Butter

2 tbsp Finely Minced Shallots

1/4 cup Balsamic Vinegar

2 tbsp Brown Sugar

1/4 cup Beef Broth

IMG_0063

I cut my steak lengthwise, then cut it into rectangular strips. I’m not sure the technical terms, as this was my first attempt at butchery but it came out just fine, I ended up with 8 strips (only 6 pictured because I stacked them). Also, bare with me while I figure out my new camera in indoor light…it gets better I swear!

IMG_0067Coat both sides with Worcestershire Sauce, salt, and pepper.

IMG_0074

Cut up the veggies. See, I told you the pictures would get better!

IMG_0076

In a large pan on medium heat, melt butter and add chopped shallots. Cook until shallots are translucent.

IMG_0080

Add in brown sugar, beef broth and balsamic vinegar, cook until the mixture is thick and syrupy. The smell at this point is delicious, but resist the urge to quit now and just drink the syrup mixture. Instead, pour the mixture into a small bowl and set aside. You don’t need to clean the pan for the next step.

IMG_0081

Add the olive oil to the pan, turn the heat up to high, add veggies (you don’t need to cook the green onion), garlic cloves and Italian seasoning, and saute for no more than 3 minutes.

IMG_0083

Lay the steak flat, placing the veggies in the middle of the horizontal strip. Roll up the steak, securing both ends of the strip with a toothpick.

IMG_0085

Place steak rolls back into the pan, cook until done, being sure to roll them so that all sides are cooked evenly.

IMG_0086

All done and ready to eat! The verdict? Sooo scrumptious! The bigger rolls were a bit difficult to eat (like, balsamic juice dripping down your am) so maybe don’t make these for your next fancy dinner party, but the taste was better than I even anticipated! I’ll definitely be making these again.

And because we’ve been going on so many SLO County adventures, I thought I’d share some of the recent highlights:

IMG_0057

Edna Valley Vineyards

IMG_0058

Chamisal Vineyards

IMG_0092

Montaña De Oro State Park

IMG_0110

Montaña De Oro State Park

Leave a Reply

