Greek Chicken Pitas

Lately I have been fighting an overwhelming desire to nest. I want to buy pillows and ottomans and DIY all sorts of cool wall art. I also want to monogram everything. Literally there’s nothing I can think of that wouldn’t be better with a monogram. Basically, I want to start creating a space that feels like home for me and my fiance. At the moment, I still have two and a half more months on my lease, but no idea where I will be moving when that lease is up. It’s really difficult to nest when you don’t know where your nest will be located. And as much as I’m looking forward to moving into our first home with my fiance, I have crazy mixed feelings about moving out of my current house and being separated from all my best friends. I even spontaneously combust into tears from time to time at the thought of saying goodbye to them. It’s not a good look for me.

So what’s a girl to do when faced with so many questions about the future, moving on, and life? Eat. Well, cook and then eat. Maybe a little bit of drinking too. Alcohol, obviously.

I made a few tweaks to this¬†recipe, mostly because don’t like cucumber. This has quickly become one of my favorite recipes, it’s so easy and makes really good leftovers.

Image

Ingredients:

1 lemon

2 tbsp red wine vinegar

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

dash of salt & pepper

1 tbsp dried oregano

2 heaping tablespoons plain Greek yogurt

3 cloves garlic

3-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I used fillets)

1 red onion

1-2 tomatoes

pita bread (I used Sara Lee whole wheat pitas)

IMG_0022

Red wine vinegar, olive oil, garlic, dried oregano, salt & pepper

IMG_0023

Add the Greek yogurt. It looks like mozzarella!

IMG_0026

I cut the chicken into small pieces for easier cooking.

Pour about half the sauce into a large Ziploc with the chicken.

Let the mixture marinate in the fridge for 1-2 hours. Or until you are hungry and can’t wait any longer.

IMG_0027

I cooked them in olive oil. Next time I’ll try barbecuing them!

IMG_0037

Chop the chicken into small pieces and pile it into the pita, topped with some of the leftover sauce, chopped red onion and tomato. Delicious!

I think I might have overstuffed my pita, but it was so good! And I must say, they were even better as leftovers today!

Leave a Reply

