Quinoa Pizza “Bites”

I’ve been making a conscious effort to like quinoa lately. It’s packed with protein, quick to make, and can be used in so many different recipes (or so I’m told by Pinterest). I’m still not sold on it though. I want to like quinoa, I really do, and I don’t know if it’s the texture or the taste but it’s been a struggle for me to finish the box that I bought a few months ago. Major housewife problem, I know.

In my effort to use up what I already paid for learn to love quinoa, I decided to try Quinoa Pizza Bites. I’ve seen them before and understood the general idea, but I didn’t follow a specific recipe in making them. This could have been part of the problem, but if I can’t come up with a recipe as I go then it’s really not a practical food for me. Anyway, here is my attempt at quinoa pizza bites:

Ingredients

1/2 cup uncooked quinoa

1 cup water

1 clove garlic

1/2 cup chopped onion

3/4 cup shredded mozzarella

1 tbsp dried basil

1 tbsp dried oregano

1 large egg

IMG_1181

1/2 cup dried quinoa, 1 cup water

Bring quinoa and water to a boil, then cover and let simmer on low for 10-15 minutes (check directions on package for specific cook time). Once cooked, mix quinoa, one clove garlic, 1/2 cup onion, 3/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese, 1 tbsp dried basil, 1 tbsp dried oregano.

IMG_1194

Mix!

Add in one large egg and mix until all ingredients are well blended. Using a tablespoon, spoon the mixture into a well-greased cupcake pan, almost filling each cup.

IMG_1197

Bake at 350° for 15-20 minutes. Now, ideally, your pizza “bites” are supposed to pop right out…

IMG_1202

Not quite…

Maybe I didn’t grease the pan enough, but my quinoa definitely did not come out of the pan easily. I served them with warm pizza sauce and the taste was still good, but not exactly the “pop-able” bites I was going for. The experience has not improved my opinion of quinoa and to be honest, I probably won’t buy another box of it. I prefer rice or cous cous, so I think I’ll quit trying to make quinoa happen. It’s not going to happen.

IMG_1201

My dinner was still pretty good, despite the quinoa mistake.

One thought on “Quinoa Pizza “Bites”

Leave a Reply

