Ready-To-Go Lunches

One of my original housewife problems is my tupperware addiction. There’s just something about having my food in little compartments that fills my heart with joy. Plus, no foil or saran wrap to deal makes it easy to grab and go leftovers for lunch. Unfortunately, it takes time and effort to fill those divided containers every night. For a girl who works until 6 p.m. almost every day, it’s difficult to find time to cook a nutritious dinner, prepare a lunch for the following day, and exercise, on top of the daily activities like brushing your hair and taking out the trash. Those are kind of necessary actions that should not be taken for granted.

So in my eternal journey to do it all, I decided to prepare my lunches for the week on Sunday night, giving me plenty of time to make real food (no, two clementines and toast does not constitute a proper lunch) and freeing up my time during the week. This method also solves my dilemma of cooking for one, by allowing me to prepare food and mix it up on different days.

IMG_1109

I used these Ziploc divided containers because I have used them previously and am kind of in love with them. I paid $2.49 for 2 containers and if you have a dishwasher or the ability to NOT leave old containers in your car for weeks at a time, you could probably avoid having to replace them every few months. No surprise here, I bought new Ziplocs for this endeavor.

I will report back at the end of the week on how my pre-cooked lunches worked out. As far as convenience goes, I would consider doing this every week. All four meals took less than 2 hours, which includes me sneaking from the kitchen to the living room to watch the Oscars. Let’s be honest, if I was focused I could have done this in less than an hour.

Without further ado, let the lunches begin!

IMG_1114

All four meals for the week

IMG_1122

Spinach salad with craisins, croutons, and balsamic dressing. Hard-boiled egg. Roasted rosemary potatoes.

IMG_1121

Broccoli and chicken. Garlic and herb cous cous. Flatbread crackers.

IMG_1119

I’m not as happy with this one…Clearly, I will be eating salad for dinner this night! Chicken and cauliflower. Garlic and herb cous cous. Spinach and artichoke hummus (for the cauliflower).

IMG_1120

Spinach salad with craisins, croutons, hard-boiled egg, and balsamic dressing. Roasted rosemary potatoes, low-fat vanilla yogurt (with granola on the side).

IMG_1124

All stocked in the fridge, right next to the Red Bull and ready to go!

What do you eat for lunch at work or on campus? Any tips for a hungry girl on the go? Have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

