Super Bowl Apple Nachos

Remember how I was going to cook something slathered in buffalo sauce and totally unhealthy for the Super Bowl? Yeah, that all changed when I bought a scale on Saturday. To be more precise, it all changed when I actually stepped onto the scale and read a number I was not very happy with.

Since finishing school and starting a career, my healthy habits have faltered. I was walking to school, walking all around campus, and working out at the gym on my breaks between classes. I now drive to work, rarely work out, and eat much less healthy lunches. Don’t forget to factor in my alcohol consumption, which has increased drastically since turning 21. Overall, I have been trying to take small steps to return to my healthy lifestyle in 2013. Which is why when I combed through my “want-to-do” recipe list, I settled on something less guilt-inducing…

IMG_0860

Apple Nachos!

Yes, this is still not the healthiest snack I could have eaten but I did say I was taking small steps. And I was honestly surprised because everyone at the party (mostly male, might I add) loved them! It was super easy: cut up some apples (I used 3 granny smith and 3 golden delicious), drizzle some carmel and chocolate chips on top, enjoy! You could definitely use peanut butter, almonds, coconut, marshmallows, or nutella.

I’m so happy with the way these turned out, especially because the game was such a disappointment. At least I had my delicious carmel apples to keep me occupied. Maybe next year, ‘Niners!

One thought on “Super Bowl Apple Nachos

Leave a Reply

