Housewife vs. Crockpot

Let’s be clear on one thing: me and the crock pot are not friends. I stopped keeping score long ago, but I have lost many battles with that damn appliance. In fact, I would have given up on the idea if everyone hadn’t raved about their beloved crock pot. “It is so easy!” they said. “Fix it and forget it!” they said.

Lies! I would follow the recipe, cutting down the portions to fit my needs. I was a college student cooking for one, six chicken breasts would not be necessary. Perhaps this was the problem: I was cutting down the ingredients, but not the cooking time. Rookie mistake. Each time, my chicken would be completely dry and tasteless. I still ate it (see: college student) but too many dinners had been ruined and I banished the crock pot to the cupboard for over a year.

Mainly due to this blog, I knew I had to face the crock pot once again. I found this recipe which involved three very simple ingredients: boneless, skinless chicken breasts, taco seasoning, and salsa. If I screwed up, I would have no one to blame but myself. So I threw everything into the crock pot, set the timer, and walked away.

IMG_1072

Mmm looks delicious? I’m not quite sure.

And much to my surprise, a few short hours later I had a pot full of delicious chicken that wasn’t dry! It was a crock pot miracle!

IMG_1075

After some shredding.

IMG_1077

Tacos!

The finished result was so good I am considering bringing the crock pot into my rotation of meals. I might even attempt pulled pork if I’m feeling adventurous. I’m still wary of the crock pot, however, and would prefer that my dinner come from a more trustworthy appliance, like the waffle maker. The waffle maker has never betrayed me.

Leave a Reply

